VHC Assignment #2 How do you handle negative comments?

Oh, the negative comments. We always have negative comments, it doesn’t matter what part of our life is there will always be negative comments. 

Before getting started here is a link to the Virtual Homeschool Coop website.

I haven’t had a lot of negative comments, maybe because my kids are young and strangers may think they aren’t old enough. I don’t know. The only few times I have heard a comment from a stranger I usually smile and ignore the comment and go on. The only negative comment that I remember is from a cashier. When she learned that we homeschool she immediately asked: why? I smile and I may have laughed a little and we went our way.
If we talk about family, I don’t think our family agrees with our decision but we live far from home and family that they don’t have the opportunity to tell us everything they wish.

My dad one time asked me: what about college? And I just say well, that’s on them. If they want to go to college they can.

My mom, who is a former teacher in Mexico and she was a good teacher I might add, told me once: well you can homeschool them now that they our younger and let them go to middle and high school. Another comment she has told me is: I do think that homeschool is great and that they can learn better because they can have one on one interaction, but what about socialization?  My answer was, kids in public school don’t socialize that much, they’re always sitting and they are expected to be quiet for 6 hours or more. Besides PUBLIC SCHOOL ISN’T THE ONLY PLACE WHERE KIDS CAN SOCIALIZE. And that is it. I do want to add that my mom has been amazing, I can always talk to her and ask her advice and she also sends me books, she buys us new books but also she has given us books that she had from school, when she was teaching.

I have received other comments from my mother in law, my sister in law, etc but nothing to bad, I don’t get offended. And my sister in law is amazing, I can always talk to her about all this homeschooling stuff, the good days, the bad days, everything.

And there you have it. I’m pretty relaxed about it, I usually let go.

Blessings!

Abby.

7 comentarios en “VHC Assignment #2 How do you handle negative comments?

  1. We have heard similar things from our moms (my mom and my mother-in-law). If the Lord has put it on your heart to home school and your husband desires that of your family, then hold on for the ride for we have learned just as much in this journey as our kids have scholastically. Have a great day. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  2. Well I have done the homeschooling all the way thru graduation for three of our four (#4 is 15 so we are almost there) and I can tell you-they need their parents more than ever in high school. My kids are very well adjusted, can relate and succeed in the real world. So no need to worry about high school. It is very doable. Great post! Glad to see you on the VHC.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Responder

